Will You Always Lose Your License After a DUI?

The biggest question after a DUI, aside from whether or not you may face jail time, is if you will lose your driver’s license. While an arrest does not necessarily mean you will lose your license automatically, a conviction may carry more harsh penalties including, but not limited to, fines, jail time, impoundment of vehicles, and revocation of driver’s license.

In this brief article, a DUI defense attorney in Tampa with The Rickman Law Firm discusses whether a DUI will result in a loss of driver’s license privileges in the state of Florida.

Does a DUI Arrest Automatically Mean You Lose Your License?

In Florida, an arrest does not necessarily mean you will automatically lose your license. However, you have 10 days from the date of arrest to apply for a hardship license and work permit. This is important to avoid adverse impacts on your income or job. You can also contest a suspension at the hearing for the hardship license.

Driver License Revocation Periods for DUI

According to the State of Florida, the following periods apply for driver license revocation for DUI:

  • First offense without bodily injury: Minimum 180 days revocation, maximum one year.

  • First offense with bodily injury: Minimum three years revocation.

  • Second offense within five years from prior conviction: Minimum five years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after one year.

  • Second offense five or more years after first conviction, the same revocation periods as first offense apply.

  • Third offense within 10 years of the second conviction: Minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligible for a hardship reinstatement after two years.

  • Third offense 10 or more years after the second conviction, the same revocation periods as first offense apply.

  • Fourth conviction, regardless of when prior convictions occurred: Mandatory permanent revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after five years. If incarcerated, the revocation period begins upon date of release from incarceration.

  • DUI manslaughter: Mandatory permanent revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after five years, if there are no prior DUI related convictions.

  • Manslaughter, DUI serious bodily injury or vehicular homicide convictions: Minimum three years revocation. DUI serious bodily injury having prior DUI conviction is the same as second – fourth bullet above.

You can find the complete statutory language in sections 322.271 and 322.28, Florida Statutes.

Get Help from a DUI Attorney in Tampa

It is important to remember that in the State of Florida, a conviction of a DUI will remain on your record for 75 years. In addition to losing your license, you might face steep fines, jail time, and a stigma that will impact your relationships and business prospects.

A Tampa DUI attorney with The Rickman Law Firm can help. We will help you file for a hardship license and will defend your case every step of the way.

For a free consultation with a DUI attorney in Tampa, please contact The Rickman Law Firm today.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.

NEED A DEFENSE ATTORNEY?

Schedule Consultation

Case Results

Violation of Probation Dismissed

The defendant was charged with violation of probation for a dirty urine screen. After a hearing the court dismissed the defendant’s violation and terminated his probation.
Show More

NO CONVICTION FOR DUI AND DRIVING WHILE LICENSE SUSPENDED CHARGES

The Client was charged with Driving Under the Influence and Driving While License Suspended or Revoked. Even though this Client had several previous criminal traffic related charges, Attorney Anthony Rickman was able avoid a conviction
Show More

NO CONVICTION FOR NO VALID DRIVER LICENSE CHARGE IN PASCO COUNTY

The Client was arrested for a No Valid Driver License in Pasco County. As the Client did not speak or understand English, the Client was not able to convey to law enforcement that she possessed
Show More