If you were stopped for a traffic charge, chances are you were swerving, speeding, involved in an accident, or committed an infraction. If you have been charged with a traffic infraction it is important that you hire a criminal defense lawyer in Tampa who can fight these allegations.
If you get a traffic ticket always take action, inaction will be more detrimental and cause more problems.
What Are My Options?
As a Florida resident, you have options:
- You can just pay the ticket. Unfortunately, paying the ticket is admitting to the violation which results in points on your license and an insurance increase.
- You can pay your ticket and take traffic school. This option has two costs. The cost of the ticket and the cost of traffic school. You can take traffic school online or in-person but it’s still four hours of your time. However, if you’ve already attended traffic school in the last four months, you are required to take an 8-hour class. It is important to note that you only get to take five traffic schools across your lifespan and driving history.
- You can fight the ticket. You can do this yourself or with the help of an attorney. If you decide to fight the ticket, you won’t have to pay until the end of your trial, and if dismissed, you won’t pay anything. If after deciding to contest the charge, you decide not to show up to trial, your license will immediately be suspended.
Why Was My License Suspended?
For many, driving while license suspended (DWLS) is among the most common charges. In Florida, you could be driving with a suspended license and not know it. These are the cases in which one may not know they’ve been suspended:
- • Failure to pay tickets, child support, or a judgment
- • Conviction for drugs or DUI offenses
- • Habitual traffic offender
- • Failure to appear in court
How Does the Point System Work?
The Florida Traffic System works on a point system. For example, driving under 15 mph is two points, driving over 15 mph is three or more points, a stop sign violation is three points, and passing a stopped school bus can earn you four to six points. If someone gets 12 points in a year, their license is suspended for 30 days which can eventually lead to a one year suspension. A lawyer can look into removing points from a driver’s record after the fact but it is best to address these charges when received.
For a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney in Tampa, please contact The Rickman Law Firm at (813) 370-1185 or submit our contact request form.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.